Big guns lose as AAP sweeps Ludhiana with lead in 13 of 14 seats

Except for Dakha, which was won for the third time by the SAD’s Manpreet Singh Ayali, and Jagraon, which was won for the second time by the AAP’s Sarvjit Kaur Manuke, all other seats in the district where results were announced were won by the AAP’s first-time victors.


With an Aam Aadmi Party wave spreading through Punjab, the party is leading in 13 of the 14 seats in the Ludhiana district where the Assembly elections are being counted on Thursday. The sole seat it has lost in the district is Dakha, which was won by Manpreet Singh Ayali of the Shiromani Akali Dal.

Bharat Bhushan Ashu and Gurkirat Kotli, two-time MLA and Lok Insaf Party chairman Simarjeet Singh Bains, his brother Balwinder Singh Bains, six-time Congress MLA Rakesh Pandey, and the Sanyukt Samaj Morcha’s Balbir Singh Rajewal are among the strong guns that lost.

Except for Dakha, which was won for the third time by Ayali, and Jagraon, which was won for the second time by AAP’s Sarvjit Kaur Manuke, all other seats in the district where results were announced were won by AAP’s first-time victors.

Jagtar Singh Diyalpura of the AAP beat Paramjit Singh Dhillon of the SAD by almost 26,000 votes in Samrala. Balbir Singh Rajewal, the main ministerial face of the farmers’ movement Sanyukt Samaj Morcha, came in sixth place with just 4,676 votes.

Tarunpreet Singh Sond of the AAP defeated Gurkirat Kotli, a minister and two-time MLA. He came in third, with Jasdeep Kaur Yadu of the SAD coming in second.

Bharat Bhushan Ashu, a two-term MLA and minister, was defeated by the AAP’s Gurpreet Bassi Gogi in Ludhiana West by approximately 7,500 votes. Gogi, a former Congress leader and four-time councillor, was contesting his maiden Assembly election. For more over two decades, he and Ashu worked together in Congress.

Simarjeet Singh Bains, the Lok Insaf Party president and two-time MLA, lost Atam Nagar to the AAP’s Kulwant Singh Sidhu, a former Congress leader, and finished third, with the Congress’s Kamaljit Singh Karwal taking second place.

Balwinder Singh Bains, Simarjeet’s older brother and MLA,

Balwinder Singh Bains, Simarjeet’s older brother and MLA, was lost in his Ludhiana South seat, which was won by the AAP’s Rajinder Pal Kaur. He came in third place as well, with the Congress candidate receiving more votes.

Hardeep Singh Mundian of the AAP led Vikram Singh Bajwa of the Congress in Sahnewal, the son-in-law of former chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal. Sharanjit Singh Dhillon, a SAD MLA, came in third.

Sanjay Talwar, a Congress MLA,

In Ludhiana East and Central, Congress MLAs Sanjay Talwar and Surinder Dawar were lagging AAP candidates Daljit Bhola Grewal and Ashok Prashar Pappi, respectively.

Sarvjit Kaur Manuke of the AAP beat SR Kaler of the SAD by almost 39,000 votes in Jagraon. Jagtar Singh Hissowal of the Congress, who had converted from the AAP as Raikot’s MLA, was a distant third.

Manwinder Singh Giaspura of the AAP was leading against Congress MLA Lakhvir Singh Lakha in Payal.

In Ludhiana North, six-time Congress MLA Rakesh Pandey was behind behind AAP’s Madan Lal Bagga. Bagga, who had previously been a member of both the Congress and the SAD but was refused a ticket by both, ran as an independent twice and lost both times.

Jiwan Singh Sanghowal of the AAP beat Congress MLA Kuldip Singh Vaid, a retired IAS officer who had initially won the seat in 2017. Vaid came in third position, with Darshan Singh Shivalik of the SAD receiving more votes.

Fewnews Bureau

Few News is India's Fastest Growing Digital News Network Reporting on Tech, Fashion, Fitness, Business, and many more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

National News

Yogi Adityanath Hits Back at Anupam Kher,

Yogi Adityanath lashes out at Anupam Kher, describing him as a “real-life monster.”The reaction comes only a few days after Anupam Kher suggested that “those like Yogi Adityanath and Sadhvi Prachi who “talk gibberish” should be “thrown out” of the BJP and “placed behind jail.” Yogi Adityanath, a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), […]

Read More
National News

Sri Lanka Economic Crisis Live Updates

Sri Lanka Economic Crisis Live Updates: Protesters call for the removal of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa; MK Stalin wants Prime Minister Modi’s approval to assist Sri Lankan Tamils. Live updates on the Sri Lankan economic crisis: The Indian government has handed Sri Lanka with a $2.4 billion package of financial aid in February and March, as […]

Read More
National News

Hindus Can Get Minority Status in Some States:

State governments can consider granting Hindus the status of “minority” in their jurisdictions if the community is not in the majority within those jurisdictions, the Centre has told the Supreme Court, in order to allow them to establish and administer educational institutions of their choice in accordance with the rights guaranteed to minorities under the […]

Read More